First built in 1868 and was originally a wooden house. The lighthouse keeper lit a kerosene lamp every night and then reflected it to get the “lighthouse effect.” A replacement lighthouse was built in 1914 and the original lighthouse was nearby and remained as a home for the lighthouse keeper until 1954 when it was destroyed by Hurricane Edna. The lighthouse became automated in 1958 and since then has had several different light colours but the current one is red to keep up with world standards. Previously, in the lower level, there used to be a post office but it closed in 2009 and the lighthouse was declared unnecessary in 2010 and has not been declared a Heritage Lighthouse. Today, it is standing and one of Nova Scotia’s most well known lighthouses; an iconic historical landmark in Canada.